US Capitals – capitals of the united states and States map capitals

US Capitals! Since 1800, Washington has served as the federal capital of the United States. Each state in the United States, as well as many of its outlying districts, has its own capital city.

Most states have not changed their capital city since becoming a state, but the capital cities of their predecessor colonies, territories, kingdoms, and republics frequently did.

There have also been other governments with their own capitals within the current borders of the United States, such as the Republic of Texas, Native American countries, and other unrecognized governments. Do you want to know the list of all US 50 state capitals and their respective state in alphabetical order, the US State map with capitals and the United States Capitals Prior to Washington, D.C.? Then read on.

Capitals of the United States

Each of the 50 states has a state capitol in a city. It is the location of the government’s seat. Some state capitals are also the state’s largest cities, however, this is not always the case. The city’s population size, a city of historical significance, such as which town in that state was established first, or simply a central position were all factors in determining the location of the state capital.

The alphabetical list below includes all 50 state capitals and their respective states.

Abrr. States Capitals
AL Alabama Montgomery
AK Alaska Juneau
AZ Arizona Phoenix
AR Arkansas Little Rock
CA California Sacramento
CO Colorado Denver
CT Connecticut Hartford
DE Delaware Dover
FL Florida Tallahassee
GA Georgia Atlanta
HI Hawaii Honolulu
ID Idaho Boise
IL Illinois Springfield
IN Indiana Indianapolis
IA Iowa Des Moines
KS Kansas Topeka
KY Kentucky Frankfort
LA Louisiana Baton Rouge
ME Maine Augusta
MD Maryland Annapolis
MA Massachusetts Boston
MI Michigan Lansing
MN Minnesota St. Paul
MS Mississippi Jackson
MO Missouri Jefferson City
MT Montana Helena
NE Nebraska Lincoln
NV Nevada Carson City
NH New Hampshire Concord
NJ New Jersey Trenton
NM New Mexico Santa Fe
NY New York Albany
NC North Carolina Raleigh
ND North Dakota Bismarck
OH Ohio Columbus
OK Oklahoma Oklahoma City
OR Oregon Salem
PA Pennsylvania Harrisburg
RI Rhode Island Providence
SC South Carolina Columbia
SD South Dakota Pierre
TN Tennessee Nashville
TX Texas Austin
UT Utah Salt Lake City
VT Vermont Montpelier
VA Virginia Richmond
WA Washington Olympia
WV West Virginia Charleston
WI Wisconsin Madison
WY Wyoming Cheyenne

United States Capitals Prior to Washington, D.C.

Yes, America’s capital has been in Washington, D.C., for more than 200 years. However, the origin tale of the nation does not include cities. In actuality, it didn’t even exist during the Revolution, and it wasn’t until 1800 that it was designated as the capital. Therefore, several places have served as the capital of America. The United States Senate claims that before Washington, D.C., the federal government was based in eight other places.

  • Baltimore, Maryland
  • Lancaster, Pennsylvania
  • York, Pennsylvania
  • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Princeton, New Jersey
  • Annapolis, Maryland
  • Trenton, New Jersey
  • New York City, New York

Map of the United States with state capitals

A map of the United States with capitals is shown below. Each of the 50 states has its own capital city. The state capitals house the state government and the legislature for each state.

The United States has its own national capital, which is located on the border between Virginia and Maryland. Learn about all of the US states and capitals using the map below.


Why isn’t New York the US capital?

Each case has a unique set of causes. While the biggest city was a port on the state’s perimeter, there was frequently a desire for a central position. Additionally, there was frequently a desire to “spread the prosperity about” as opposed to concentrating all economic and political power in one major city.

Which U.S. capital city is the smallest?

The smallest capital by land area is Annapolis, Maryland, which is 6.73 square miles.

Largest cities and state capitals

The capital and biggest city of each state in the United States are included in the table below.

States Capitals Largest cities
Montgomery Birmingham
Juneau Anchorage
Phoenix Phoenix
Little Rock Little Rock
Sacramento Los Angeles
Denver Denver
Hartford Bridgeport
Dover Wilmington
Tallahassee Jacksonville
Atlanta Atlanta
Honolulu Honolulu
Boise Boise
Springfield Chicago
Indianapolis Indianapolis
Des Moines Des Moines
Topeka Wichita
Frankfort Louisville
Baton Rouge New Orleans
Augusta Portland
Annapolis Baltimore
Boston Boston
Lansing Detroit
St. Paul Minneapolis
Jackson Jackson
Jefferson City Kansas City
Helena Billings
Lincoln Omaha
Carson City Las Vegas
Concord Manchester
Trenton Newark
Santa Fe Albuquerque
Albany New York City
Raleigh Charlotte
Bismarck Fargo
Columbus Columbus
Oklahoma City Oklahoma City
Salem Portland
Harrisburg Philadelphia
Providence Providence
Columbia Columbia
Pierre Sioux Falls
Nashville Memphis
Austin Houston
Salt Lake City Salt Lake City
Montpelier Burlington
Richmond Virginia Beach
Olympia Seattle
Charleston Charleston
Madison Milwaukee
Cheyenne Cheyenne

What state capitol in the US is the oldest?

The oldest capital city in the United States is Santa Fe, which is also the oldest European settlement west of the Mississippi. Santa Fe was briefly inhabited in 1607, but it was really colonized in 1609–1610 by the conquistador Don Pedro de Peralta.
Has this information been useful to you? Don’t forget to bookmark us to get the latest updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *